Cover photo for Subodh Kumar (Sam) Deyasi's Obituary
Subodh Kumar (Sam) Deyasi Profile Photo

Subodh Kumar (Sam) Deyasi

May 18, 1940 — November 16, 2023

Passed away on Thursday, November 16, 2023 in Gatineau, Quebec in his 83rd year.  Dear father of Marco (Melinda), of Arizona and Monica (Stéphane), of Gatineau. Pre-deceased in September 2023 by his beloved wife Beryl Deyasi (née Nicholls) of 55 years.  He will be missed by his younger sister, Swapna (of Kolkata, India), his younger brother, Sujoy (of Ottawa, ON), his sister-in-law Barbara (Bill) (of Sheffield, England) as well as nieces, nephews, great-nephews and great-nieces from his and Beryl’s families. Also predeceased by his parents (in Kolkata, India) and several brothers and sisters.  

Sam grew up in Kolkata where he completed an undergraduate degree. After finishing, he moved to Sheffield, England to complete a Master’s Degree at the University of Sheffield. During this time, he met his beloved wife, Beryl. They married in Sheffield in 1968 before immigrating together to Canada. Sam worked in numerous cities in Canada (Edmonton, Victoria, London, Toronto) before settling in the Ottawa-Gatineau region. He worked at the Ottawa Hospital from 1973 to 2002 as a Toxicologist. Shortly after retiring, in 2002 he and Beryl moved to Nanaimo, BC. They moved back to Gatineau, QC in August 2022 to be closer to their daughter, Monica.

Donations in Sam’s honour can be made to Diabetes Canada or to the Heart and Stroke Foundation of Canada.  

A Memorial Gathering will be held at Hope Cemetery’s Reception Room, 4660 Bank Street, Ottawa, ON  on Wednesday, December 13, 2023 

Time: 12:30 p.m. – 3:30 p.m. with a service at 1pm (EST)

(or 10am PST (BC) / 11am MST (Arizona) / 6pm BST (UK)/ 9pm KSA (Saudia Arabia) / 11:30PM IST (India) 

The 1pm Service will be livestreamed and available for later viewing to those who register. (Whether you live near or far…)  Please register using the link in the video section below.

Make a donation to one of the following charities in remembrance of Subodh Kumar (Sam) Deyasi

Service Schedule

Past Services

Memorial Service

Wednesday, December 13, 2023

12:30 - 3:30 pm (Eastern time)

Add to Calendar

Hope Cemetery Reception Centre

4660 Bank Street
Ottawa, K1T 3W7

*Standard text messaging rates apply.

Photo Gallery

Guestbook

Visits: 191

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the
Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Service map data © OpenStreetMap contributors